Mountain Bike Ride Down Worlds Highest Road!

29 July, 2007

Paul on top of the world

Hi Mum and Dad, I am really well and hoping you are too. I’m sorry I haven’t been able to send my pictures to you, but believe me I have been trying to! There is only a very limited connection here in Ladakh as it is such an isolated area. I asked a Tibetan friend to send you one pic early in the morning when the connection is best. He would have sent it via his account though and I think it was in large format. When I cross back over the mountains in a week or so I should have more luck with connections so I have to ask you to be patient. I am still staying in the small city of Leh and spending lots of time with new friends exploring the area. There are many ancient monasteries and ruins in the surrounding mountains and all have been very fascinating.

Mountain pass sign on the worlds highest road

Khardung  La,  18.380Ft   Highest motorable road in the world.

Yesterday we took a jeep ride to the highest mountain pass on the worlds highest road and, having earlier hired mountain bikes and tied them to the roof, we unloaded at the top and rode down 40km of mountainside at incredible speeds. It was truly exhilarating. Love to you all back on the farm, Paul

The view from the top of the world.

Leave a Reply

